Laughing at the stony face of gloom

(your instinct can’t be wrong)

Tomcat install (under linux) – part (2)

with 4 comments

Well, that was lunch… back to the install.

After all that work, we should have a working version of tomcat. However, we don’t have any users set up – so how do we manage our applications (etc) ? Well, first things first, let’s create a role in the

[tomcat root]/conf/tomcat-users.xml file.

it should look something like this

<?xml version=’1.0′ encoding=’utf-8′?>
<tomcat-users>
<role rolename=”manager”/>
<user username=”[pick a name]” password=”[pick a password]” roles=”manager” />
</tomcat-users>

once you have made the changes, you’ll need to restart tomcat
/[tomcat root]/bin/shutdown.sh

(wait a few moments – you can type ps guax|grep java to see if the process has stopped before running)

/[tomcat root]/bin/startup.sh

to start the service up again.

You can check in the /[tomcat root]/logs/catalina.out file to see if there are any errors generated .

Written by Mas

April 21, 2008 at 4:24 pm

Posted in web servers

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I tried to install Ubuntu with my ‘3’ mobile doggle – but it would not work …

    So back to windows and the slow process of downloading pages and the freeze up – still it allows a wee snooze – on a regular basis.

    Good Luck with your Linux – it is great

    Peter

    April 29, 2008 at 8:12 am

  2. :)
    I know what you mean – I’ve been using linux (in various flavours – although – typically not wandering too far from the slackware and redhat varieties) over the past … um… (counts on fingers) well over 10 years – probably heading towards 15!!

    I’ve always liked linux – although a lot of that is I kinda like having the little blinking shell prompt :)

    Have a good day there
    M

    Mas

    April 29, 2008 at 9:51 am

  3. Hey thanks for the info it really helped me in starting the server…
    I’m toatally new to the GNU/Linux…
    now i’m having a problem in running the servlet…i putted the my java file in the
    /usr/local/apache-tomcat-6.0.16/webapps/ROOT/WEB-INF/classes But its not compiling please help me out.

    Mak

    May 17, 2008 at 7:40 pm

  4. Hi there Mak – sorry for the delay in replying – I’m not so much a developer as someone who gets asked to make things work. I’ll see if I can find out what I can (as I might need to know myself :) )

    a quick search throws up this page on the apache/tomcat site which looks interesting – but I’ve not had enough time to got through it myself yet.

    http://tomcat.apache.org/tomcat-3.3-doc/appdev/deployment.html

    Mas

    May 22, 2008 at 4:03 pm


Leave a Reply

